Black TV Networks Rant

I_TrinaErrollPatrina_ISupportBlackBusinesses

 

 

We have a few television networks dedicated to the Black community, but none of them 100 percent black owned. Bet was founded and up until 2001 owned by Robert L.  Johnson. He sold the network to Viacom. Viacom also owns Centric, which is a Bet sister station. 

Own, founded and partially owned by Oprah Winfrey is also owned by Discovery communications. Then we have TV One who is owned by Radio One and NBCUniversal. Those are some of the top networks dedicated to the Black community. I Love my black people and I show love and support anytime I can, but to be honest I haven’t watched BET since probably middle schools and it’s not because I feel like they’re embarrassing us, but because I feel like it doesn’t have a meaning anymore. It doesn’t show and represent our people how it should. I really watch Centric, but I never really just have. Once I learned it was affiliated BET, I thought it’d be the same things. I am a big fan of TV One however. I enjoy the old shows and I also some of the newer shows.

I guess OWN is okay at times, I don’t watch that often because it seems like each time I get comfortable and want to watch something, one of Tyler Perry’s, boring and cliche shows are on. I was Perry fan a few years ago, but he tends to upset me each time he has a new project, because it’s all the same.

The thing I do love about each of these networks is they don’t support the demeaning reality shows featuring black people act a fool. They letting the white man do that to them and each time we tune into watching LHHA, BBW etc. We’re getting the white man help them act like fools. I don’t condone or support those shows and when I ask my black girlfriends why they watch it, their answers are always simple. “They making a fool of themselves, and it’s not me.”  Funny. Right? Another thing I find extremely humorous is that Mr. And Mrs. Carter haven’t been to the BET Awards to perform in a few years, but they make it to MTV. I’m not saying I know why nor will I pretend like I know the answer, but it’s quite funny if you ask me.

I don’t want to make it seem like I don’t support black networks because I do. The content has to mean something. It has to be more than music videos.

 

Leave a Reply

